Fashion Images

A cultural and media history

Despite a large number of fashion publications and photobooks of famous fashion photographers, there is so far no detailed history of fashion pictures. Neither exists a historical outline, nor a complete classification of the topic in the own contemporary history.

The history of fashion images, their cultural and historical significance as well as their future are to be discussed here so that a finished book is created at the end.

My book project

Fashion photography is more than just a commercial link between client and consumer. The depiction of fashion – including fashion dolls, fashion plates, and illustrations – is more than a cultural-historical phenomenon and always a mirror of its time. It does not matter if we move to the 15th or in the 21st century. Here, trends and taboos are touched, technical progress becomes visible, beauty ideals and moral concepts are deliberately staged.
In short, the visual ambassadors of fashion are the pure zeitgeist, which calls for a more detailed analysis and summary.

Writing a book is an ongoing process. I would like to share my thoughts, research, and progress on this project. Besides, I will reveal my inspirations and sources in the form of blog posts and present first results. In doing so, I hope for a lively exchange, constructive criticism and suggestions of any kind. In this way, a coherent cultural history should emerge, which will finally be available as a print version and/or e-book.

Blog

No posts found!

About me

Gerlind Hector
 
 As a fashion journalist and lecturer, I have been working intensively for many years on communicating fashion and Zeitgeist topics. I am not only interested in the textual information of trends and tendencies, but also in their chosen way of mediation.
Colleagues, fashion photographers and, last but not least, my students, whom I teach in Fashion Photography at the AMD Akademie Mode & Design since 2002, have often asked me for a particular book tip that deals with the history of fashion photography. I would like to be able to offer this special tip in the future.
Fashion Images

Table of contents

1. First Ambassadors of Elegance – From the Middle Ages to the Modern Age
1.1 Robe Studies of Old Masters
1.2 First textile trade fairs provide for the fashionable exchange
1.3 Fashion dolls as the first ambassadors of fashion
1.4 The French Revolution also frees fashion
1.5 Paper dolls facilitate manufacturing and shipping
1.6 First journals and almanacs
1.7 Caricatures testify to the importance of style
1.8 Department store as a platform for fashion and emancipation

2. Fashion pictures – from the first fashion plate to fashion photography
2.1 From 1800: Copper Engraving as the most important illustration technique
2.2 From 1840: Steel engraving brings fine detail
2.3 From 1850: Woodcut combines text and image
2.4 1880-1900: First fashion photography does not convince
2.5 From 1900: Fashion photography and graphics complement each other

3. 100 years of fashion photography
3.1 1910 – 1920: The first artistic fashion photography
3.2 1920 – 1930: Chiaroscuro in black and white
3.3 1930 – 1940: Great depression, art and experiments
3.4 1940 – 1950: ‘Fashion is indestructible’
3.5 1950 – 1960: Twinset and pearl necklace
3.6 1960 – 1970: ‘Youthquake’ and Flower Power
3.7 1970 – 1980: Politics, polyester and plateau
3.8 1980 – 1990: Coming Out and Brand Mania
3.9 1990 – 2000: Supermodels and Heroin Chic
3.10 2000 – 2010: Capitalism crisis, photoshop, fashion film
3.11 2010 – 2020: #Diversity #NoMakeUp #MeToo

Feedback

Criticism, praise, and suggestions are welcome! Do you miss topics, aspects, names? I am happy to be inspired by your ideas for my book project and am pleased about additions, updates or even links that can contribute to the completion of "Fashion Images." Thank you!

Fashion Images

Eine Kultur- und Mediengeschichte

Trotz einer Vielzahl an Modepublikationen und Fotobänden großer Modefotografen gibt es bislang keine ausführlich publizierte Geschichte der Modebilder. Weder existiert ein historischer Abriss, noch eine ausführliche Einordnung des Themas in die jeweilige Zeitgeschichte.

Die Geschichte der Fashion Images, ihre kulturelle und historische Bedeutung aber auch ihre Zukunft sollen hier näher beleuchtet werden, so dass am Ende ein fertiges Buch entsteht.

Mein Buchprojekt

Modefotografie ist mehr als nur kommerzielles Bindeglied zwischen Auftraggeber und Konsument. Die Darstellung von Mode – dazu zählen auch Modepuppen, Modekupfer und Illustrationen – ist vielmehr ein kulturhistorisches Phänomen und stets Spiegel ihrer Zeit. Egal, ob wir uns im 15. oder im 21. Jahrhundert bewegen. Hier werden Trends und Tabus berührt, technischer Fortschritt wird sichtbar, Schönheitsideale und Moralvorstellungen werden bewusst in Szene gesetzt.
Kurz: Die visuellen Botschafter der Mode sind purer Zeitgeist, der nach einer genaueren Analyse und Zusammenfassung verlangt.

Ein Buch zu schreiben, ist ein fortlaufender Prozess. Meine Gedanken, Recherchen und Fortschritte an diesem Projekt möchte ich gern teilen. Dazu werde ich in Form von Blogposts meine Inspirationen und Quellen enthüllen und erste Ergebnisse präsentieren. Dabei hoffe ich auf regen Austausch, konstruktive Kritik und Anregungen jeder Art. Auf diese Weise soll eine zusammenhängende Kulturgeschichte entstehen, die final als Print-Version und/oder E-Book erhältlich sein wird.

Blog

No posts found!

Über mich

Gerlind Hector

Als Modejournalistin und Dozentin beschäftige ich mich seit vielen Jahren intensiv mit der Vermittlung von Mode- und Zeitgeist-Themen. Dabei interessiert mich nicht nur die textliche Information von Trends und Tendenzen, sondern auch ihre dafür gewählte Art der Vermittlung.
Kollegen, Modefotografen und nicht zuletzt meine Studenten, die ich im Fach „Modefotografie“ an der AMD Akademie Mode & Design seit dem Jahr 2002 unterrichte, haben mich im Laufe der Zeit oft nach einem besonderen Buchtipp gefragt, der sich mit der Geschichte der Modebilder beschäftigt. Diesen besonderen Tipp möchte ich in Zukunft gerne geben können.

Fashion Images

Inhaltsverzeichnis

1. Erste Botschafter der Eleganz – Von der Stein- bis in die Neuzeit
1.1 Erste Modezeichnung als Höhlenmalerei
1.2 Gewandstudien alter Meister
1.3 Erste Textilmessen sorgen für modischen Austausch
1.4 Modepuppen als erste Botschafterinnen der Mode
1.5 Die Französische Revolution befreit auch die Mode
1.6 Papierpuppen erleichtern Herstellung und Versand
1.7 Erste Journale und Almanache
1.8 Karikaturen zeugen von neuem Stellenwert der Mode
1.9 Das Kaufhaus als Plattform für Mode und Emanzipation

2. Modebilder – Vom ersten Modekupfer bis zur Modefotografie
2.1 Ab 1800: Der Kupferstich als wichtigste Illustrationstechnik
2.2 Ab 1840: Der Stahlstich bringt feinen Detailreichtum
2.3 Ab 1850: Der Holzstich kombiniert Text und Bild
2.4 1880-1900: Erste Modefotografien überzeugen nicht
2.5 Ab 1900: Modefotografie und -grafik ergänzen sich

3. Über 100 Jahre Modefotografie
3.1 Die 10er Jahre: Das erste künstlerische Modefoto
3.2 Die 20er Jahre: Chiaroscuro in Schwarzweiß
3.3 Die 30er Jahre: Wirtschaftskrise, Kunst und Experimente
3.4 Die 40er Jahre: ‚Mode ist unzerstörbar‘
3.5 Die 50er Jahre: Brav und Bieder
3.6 Die 60er Jahre: ‚Youthquake‘ und Flowerpower
3.7 Die 70er Jahre: Politik, Polyester und Plateau
3.8 Die 80er Jahre: Coming Out und Markenwahn
3.9 Die 90er Jahre: Modelkult und Heroin Chic
3.10 2000 – 2010: Kapitalismuskrise, Photoshop, Modefilm
3.11. 2010 – 2020: #MeToo, #NoMakeUp, #Diversity

Feedback

Kritik, Lob und Anregungen sind ausdrücklich erwünscht! Vermissen Sie Themen, Aspekte, Namen? Gern lasse ich mich von Ihren Ideen zu meinem Buchprojekt inspirieren und freue mich über Ergänzungen, Aktualisierungen oder auch Links, die zur Vervollständigung von „Fashion Images" beitragen können. Vielen Dank!